The House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology

Jurisdiction: (1) any energy research, development, demonstration, and projects therefore, and all federally owned or operated non-military energy laboratories; (2) astronautical research and development, including resources, personnel, equipment, and facilities; (3) civil aviation research and development; (4) environmental research and development; (5) marine research; (6) measures relating to the commercial application of energy technology; (7) standardization of weights and measures and the metric system; (8) the research and development programs of the Department of Energy, Environmental Protection Agency, Federal Aviation Administration, Federal Emergency Management Agency, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, National Institute of Standards and Technology, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, National Science Foundation, National Space Council, National Weather Service, and United States Fire Administration; (9) outer space, including exploration and control thereof; (10) science scholarships; (11) scientific research, development, and demonstration, and projects therefore. In addition to its legislative jurisdiction under the preceding provisions (and its general oversight function under clause 2(b)(1), the Committee has the special oversight function provided for in clause 3(f) with respect to all non-military research and development.

Committee Members:

Frank Lucas (R)
Oklahoma District 3
(Ranking Minority Member)
 Phone: (202) 225-5565
Fax: (202) 225-8696
Eddie Johnson (D)
Texas District 30
Phone: (202) 225-8885
Fax: (202) 226-1477


(find another committee)