The Joint Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe

The Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, also known as the Helsinki Commission, is an independent U.S. Government agency created in 1976 to monitor and encourage compliance with the Helsinki Final Act and other OSCE commitments. The Commission consists of nine members from the United States Senate, nine members from the U.S. House of Representatives, and one member each from the Departments of State, Defense, and Commerce. The positions of Chair and Co-Chair are shared by the House and Senate and rotate every two years, when a new Congress convenes. A professional staff assists the Commissioners in their work. The Commission contributes to the formulation of U.S. policy on the OSCE and takes part in its execution, including through Member and staff participation on U.S. Delegations to OSCE meetings and in certain OSCE bodies. Members of the Commission have regular contact with parliamentarians, government officials, NGOs, and private individuals from other OSCE participating States. The Commission convenes public hearings and briefings with expert witnesses on OSCE-related issues; issues public reports concerning implementation of OSCE commitments in participating States; publishes a monthly Digest with up-to-date information on OSCE developments and Commission activities; and organizes official delegations to participating States and OSCE meetings to address and assess democratic, economic, and human rights developments firsthand.

Committee Members:

Ben Cardin (D)
Maryland US Senate
(Ranking Minority Member)
 Phone: (202) 224-4524
Fax: (202) 224-1651
Roger Wicker (R)
Mississippi US Senate
 Phone: (202) 224-6253
Fax: (202) 228-0378
Jeanne Shaheen (D)
New Hampshire US Senate
 Phone: (202) 224-2841
Fax: (202) 228-3194
John Boozman (R)
Arkansas US Senate
 Phone: (202) 224-4843
Fax: (202) 228-1371
Cory Gardner (R)
Colorado US Senate
 Phone: (202) 224-5941
Fax: (202) 224-6524
Tom Udall (D)
New Mexico US Senate
 Phone: (202) 224-6621
Fax: (202) 228-3261
Sheldon Whitehouse (D)
Rhode Island US Senate
 Phone: (202) 224-2921
Fax: (202) 228-6362
Marco Rubio (R)
Florida US Senate
 Phone: (202) 224-3041
Fax: (202) 228-0285
Alcee Hastings (D)
Florida District 20
(Ranking Minority Member)
 Phone: (202) 225-1313
Fax: (202) 225-1171
Thom Tillis (R)
North Carolina US Senate
 Phone: (202) 224-6342
Fax: (202) 228-2563
Steve Cohen (D)
Tennessee District 9
 Phone: (202) 225-3265
Fax: (202) 225-5663
Chris Smith (R)
New Jersey District 4
 Phone: (202) 225-3765
Fax: (202) 225-7768
Sheila Jackson Lee (D)
Texas District 18
 Phone: (202) 225-3816
Fax: (202) 225-3317
Robert Aderholt (R)
Alabama District 4
 Phone: (202) 225-4876
Fax: (202) 225-5587
Michael Burgess (R)
Texas District 26
 Phone: (202) 225-7772
Fax: (202) 225-2919
Gwen Moore (D)
Wisconsin District 4
 Phone: (202) 225-4572
Fax: (202) 225-8135
Randy Hultgren (R)
Illinois District 14
 Phone: (202) 225-2976
Fax: (202) 225-0697
Richard Hudson (R)
North Carolina District 8
 Phone: (202) 225-3715
Fax: (202) 225-4036

(find another committee)