ACTION ALERT! Thank Key Senators and Representatives for Their Work on Carbon Neutrality of Biomass!

Congress included language to help provide regulatory clarity for the carbon neutrality of forest biomass energy in the final FY 2017 appropriations bill. This is an important step forward for paper and wood products manufactures and our entire supply chain. Our industry is the nation’s leading producer and user of biomass energy, with about two-thirds of our energy coming from biomass.

The amendment calls on federal agencies to produce clear, science-based policies that reflect the carbon neutrality of forest bioenergy and recognize biomass as a renewable energy source. AF&PA and industry allies have sought this recognition since the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) changed its policy on biomass beginning in 2010. With passage of the legislation, we are beginning to work with EPA and the departments of Agriculture and Energy to implement the legislation. But first, we need to reach out and thank the many Senators and Representatives who worked closely with us to accomplish this important achievement.

The following key Senators and Representatives helped us reach this milestone by advocating in support of industry-supported biomass amendments. We need your help to thank them!  If you know of a Senator or Representative that was helpful, but not on the list, please feel free to also thank them.

Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-TN) Sen. Jon Tester (D-MT)
Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) Sen. Tom Udall (D-NM)
Sen. John Boozman (R-AR) Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA-03)
Sen. Roy Blunt (R-MO) Rep. Sanford Bishop (D-GA-02)
Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-WA) Rep. Ken Calvert (R-CA-42)
Sen. Bill Cassidy (R-LA) Rep. Buddy Carter (R-GA-01)
Sen. Thad Cochran (R-MS) Rep. Jim Clyburn (D-SC-06)
Sen. Susan Collins (R-ME) Rep. Morgan Griffith (R-VA-09)
Sen. Steve Daines (R-MT) Rep. Derek Kilmer (D-WA-06)
Sen. Al Franken (D-MN) Rep. Markwayne Mullin (R-OK-02)
Sen. Angus King (I-ME) Rep. Dan Newhouse (R-WA-04)
Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) Rep. Pete Olson (R-TX-22)
Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA-05)
Sen. Jeff Merkley (D-OR) Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-OR-05)
Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) Rep. Terri Sewell (D-AL-07)
Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH) Rep. John Shimkus (R-IL-15)
Democratic Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) Rep. Mike Simpson (R-ID-02)
Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI-06)
Sen. Richard Shelby (R-AL)  Rep. Greg Walden (R-OR-02)
Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) Rep. Bruce Westerman (R-AR-04)

Please complete the form below to thank these Members for their support for regulatory certainty for biomass and ask that they urge EPA to act to resolve the issue.

Step One:

Note: Elected officials rarely respond to correspondence from non-constituents. By completing this form, you can help ensure that your elected representative will give your letter the attention it deserves.

(Ex: Mr., Mrs., or Ms.)

(If your address includes a suite or apartment number, enter it in the box above)

(a valid email address is required for sending your letters electronically)
  Fields marked with an * are required