President Trump’s Cabinet

The president’s cabinet is not a constitutionally enumerated body, meaning that there is no specific provision in the Constitution that requires the creation of a presidential cabinet or designates a cabinet’s duties.  Article II, Section 2 of the Constitution allows the president to request opinions from the heads of executive departments, but it does not provide a provision for the necessity of a cabinet.  While the Constitution does not provide for the creation of a cabinet, every president since George Washington has had one, though each has varied in its role pertaining to the presidency.  George Washington frequently assembled top executive officials to discuss policy matters; recently, however, the cabinet has been convened less frequently.

The Cabinet includes the Vice President, the Director of National Intelligence, the White House Chief of Staff, and the heads of 15 executive departments: the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, as well as the Attorney General.

In order of succession to the Presidency:

Vice President of the United States
Michael R. Pence

Department of State 
Secretary Mike Pompeo


Department of the Treasury
Secretary Steven Mnuchin

Department of Defense
Secretary Jim Mattis


Department of Justice
Attorney General Jeff Sessions


Department of the Interior
Secretary Ryan Zinke


Department of Agriculture
Secretary Sonny Perdue

Department of Commerce
Secretary Wilbur Ross

Department of Labor
Secretary Alexander Acosta


Department of Health and Human Services
Secretary Alex Azar


Department of Housing and Urban Development
Secretary Ben Carson

Department of Transportation
Secretary Elaine Chao


Department of Energy
Secretary Rick Perry


Department of Education
Secretary Betsy DeVos


Department of Veterans Affairs
Acting Secretary Robert Wilkie


Department of Homeland Security
Secretary Kirstjen M. Nielsen



The following positions have the status of Cabinet-rank:

White House Chief of Staff
John F. Kelly


Environmental Protection Agency
Administrator Scott Pruitt


Office of Management & Budget
Mick Mulvaney


United States Trade Representative
Robert Lighthizer


United States Mission to the United Nations
Ambassador Nikki R. Haley


Council of Economic Advisers


Small Business Administration
Linda McMahon


Central Intelligence Agency


Last updated: 5/16/2018
Source:, Greenberg, Edward S., and Benjamin I. Page. The Struggle for Democracy. 2012 Election Edition ed. New York, NY: HarperCollinsCollege, 1993. Print.