Statewide Analysis

Click here for state and local election results in Iowa.

Iowa had been trending towards the Democratic Party the last few presidential elections, but 2016 saw the Hawkeye State go for Donald Trump.  Trump's economic agenda appealed to this midwestern state's demographic that fit the profile of voters that Trump had consistent success with over the course of the primary process.  2020 will tell whether this economic message will have staying power past this 2016 move of Iowa from Democratic column to the Republican column in the run for the White House.  Trump's nine point win in Iowa shows the gains made by Trump in the midwest and the lack of campaigning by Hillary Clinton in state's like Iowa going all the way back to the primary in the state.

Senator Chuck Grassley (R) won re-election to his 7th term in the U.S. Senate.

The Iowa delegation to the U.S. House of Representatives saw no changes and all four incumbents were re-elected.

Other Notable Election Results:
The Iowa state house races are two of the most competitive state legislative chambers in the country.  Republicans held the Iowa State House of Representatives with 59 seats to 41 seats and also held the Iowa State Senate with 29 seats  to 20 seats.  Up and down the ballot Republicans did very well on election night in the Hawkeye State.  


Race by Race Details

Iowa Senate
Percent Reporting: 99    Last Update: 11/15/2016 9:39:38 AM

Candidate NamePercent Vote ReceivedWinner
Charles Aldrich (Libertarian Party)  2.7%
Chuck Grassley (Republican Party)  60.2% Winner
Jim Hennager (New Independent Party Iowa)  1.1%
Patty Judge (Democratic Party)  35.7%
Michael Luick-Thrams (Independent)  0.3%
Despite at times seeming to be a competitive earlier in the 2016 cycle Senator Chuck Grassley (R) was easily re-elected over his closest competition Democratic nominee Patty Judge.

Iowa Congressional District 01
Percent Reporting: 100    Last Update: 11/9/2016 6:39:46 AM

Candidate NamePercent Vote ReceivedWinner
Rodney Blum (Republican Party)  53.9% Winner
Monica Vernon (Democratic Party)  46.1%
Incumbent Representative Rodney Blum (R) was re-elected in a highly contested race that isn't reflected by the final votes. Blum was clearly helped by the top of the ballot and Trump performing well in Iowa.

Iowa Congressional District 02
Percent Reporting: 99    Last Update: 11/9/2016 6:42:53 AM

Candidate NamePercent Vote ReceivedWinner
Dave Loebsack (Democratic Party)  53.7% Winner
Christopher Peters (Republican Party)  46.3%

Iowa Congressional District 03
Percent Reporting: 100    Last Update: 11/9/2016 6:43:32 AM

Candidate NamePercent Vote ReceivedWinner
Claudia Addy (Independent)  1.6%
Joe Grandanette (Independent)  1.2%
Bryan Holder (Libertarian Party)  3.9%
Jim Mowrer (Democratic Party)  39.8%
David Young (Republican Party)  53.5% Winner
Incumbent David Young (R) defeated a crowded field to win re-election to the Iowa 3rd district.

Iowa Congressional District 04
Percent Reporting: 100    Last Update: 11/9/2016 6:43:49 AM

Candidate NamePercent Vote ReceivedWinner
Steve King (Republican Party)  61.4% Winner
Kimberly Weaver (Democratic Party)  38.6%

*The analysis on this page is provided by the Business-Industry Political Action Committee (BIPAC). BIPAC is an independent, bipartisan organization, that is supported by several hundred of the nation's leading businesses and trade associations. The views expressed in this analysis do not necessarily represent the views of our organization.