Statewide Analysis

Click here for state and local election results in Kansas.

Kansas delivered its six electoral votes to Donald Trump.  For national elections Kansas remains a strong Republican state.

U.S. Senator Jerry Moran (R) was re-elected two a second term.

Republicans still control all the seats in the U.S. House of Representatives from Kansas.  Roger Marshall (R) is the one new member of the delegation from the Kansas 1st District.

Other Notable Election Results:
In the Kansas statehouse Republicans continue to dominate in both chambers.  The Kansas House of Representatives has 85 Republican representatives to 40 Democratic representatives, Republicans saw twelve seats flip maybe signaling restlessness in the Kansas electorate.  In the Kansas State Senate Republicans hold 31 seats to Democrats holding 9 seats keeping a sizeable majority, but losing one seat in the 2016 elections.


Race by Race Details

Kansas Senate
Percent Reporting: 99    Last Update: 11/15/2016 10:48:23 AM

Candidate NamePercent Vote ReceivedWinner
Robert Garrard (Libertarian Party)  5.5%
Jerry Moran (Republican Party)  62.4% Winner
Patrick Wiesner (Democratic Party)  32.1%
U.S. Senator Jerry Moran (R) was re-elected to a second term. Senator Moran showed his strength in Kansas by outperforming Donald Trump in the state by over five percentage points.

Kansas Congressional District 01
Percent Reporting: 99    Last Update: 11/9/2016 7:33:56 AM

Candidate NamePercent Vote ReceivedWinner
Kerry Burt (Libertarian Party)  7.3%
Alan LaPolice (Independent)  26.4%
Roger Marshall (Republican Party)  66.2% Winner
Dr. Roger Marshall (R) won election to a first term in Congress over token opposition in the Kansas 1st District. Marshall defeated incumbent Representative Tim Huelskamp (R) in the primary.

Kansas Congressional District 02
Percent Reporting: 100    Last Update: 11/9/2016 3:13:01 AM

Candidate NamePercent Vote ReceivedWinner
James Bales (Libertarian Party)  6.4%
Lynn Jenkins (Republican Party)  61.1% Winner
Britani Potter (Democratic Party)  32.5%

Kansas Congressional District 03
Percent Reporting: 100    Last Update: 11/10/2016 12:06:28 PM

Candidate NamePercent Vote ReceivedWinner
Steve Hohe (Libertarian Party)  8.0%
Jay Sidie (Democratic Party)  40.6%
Kevin Yoder (Republican Party)  51.3% Winner

Kansas Congressional District 04
Percent Reporting: 100    Last Update: 11/9/2016 4:34:57 AM

Candidate NamePercent Vote ReceivedWinner
Gordon Bakken (Libertarian Party)  2.8%
Daniel Giroux (Democratic Party)  29.4%
Mike Pompeo (Republican Party)  61.0% Winner
Miranda Walz-Allen (Independent)  6.8%

*The analysis on this page is provided by the Business-Industry Political Action Committee (BIPAC). BIPAC is an independent, bipartisan organization, that is supported by several hundred of the nation's leading businesses and trade associations. The views expressed in this analysis do not necessarily represent the views of our organization.