Statewide Analysis

Click here for state and local election results in Montana.

For the past five elections Montana has delivered its electoral votes to the Republican nominee.  In 2016 Montana continued that trend and voted for Donald Trump, giving him three electoral votes.

Incumbent Representative Ryan Zinke (R) was re-elected to a second term.

Incumbent Governor Steve Bullock (D) won one of the most watched gubernatorial races this election cycle, defeating businessman Greg Gianforte (R) 50.2% to 46.4%.  Bullock was able to survive a very Republican election cycle not only in Montana, but across the nation.

Other Notable Election Results:
Repeal measures limiting medical marijuana passed with 56.5% in favor to 43.5% opposed.  The Republicans added three seats to their majority in the Montana State Senate, now holding 32 seats in the Senate opposed to the 18 seats the Democrats hold.  Republicans held their 59 seat majority in the Montana House of Representatives and Democrats maintained their 41 seats in that chamber.  


Race by Race Details

Montana Congressional District 01
Percent Reporting: 100    Last Update: 11/10/2016 10:00:33 AM

Candidate NamePercent Vote ReceivedWinner
Rick Breckenridge (Libertarian Party)  3.2%
Denise Juneau (Democratic Party)  40.5%
Ryan Zinke (Republican Party)  56.3% Winner