Statewide Analysis

Click here for state and local election results in Nebraska.

Nebraska's five electoral votes went for Donald Trump.

Representative Brad Ashford (D) lost re-election to Don Bacon (R).  The Nebraska U.S. House delegation is controlled by the GOP.


Race by Race Details

Nebraska Congressional District 01
Percent Reporting: 100    Last Update: 11/9/2016 9:23:18 AM

Candidate NamePercent Vote ReceivedWinner
Jeff Fortenberry (Republican Party)  69.6% Winner
Daniel Wik (Democratic Party)  30.4%

Nebraska Congressional District 02
Percent Reporting: 100    Last Update: 11/15/2016 3:12:23 PM

Candidate NamePercent Vote ReceivedWinner
Brad Ashford (Democratic Party)  47.3%
Don Bacon (Republican Party)  49.4% Winner
Steven Laird (Libertarian Party)  3.3%
Retired Air Force General Don Bacon (R) unseated incumbent Representative Brad Ashford (D). This swing district had been a major target for national Republican efforts with the district being rated Republican leaning. Rep. Ashford had run a strong campaign and received the endorsement of groups such as NFIB, BIPAC Action Fund, and the U.S. Chamber. In the end a Republican wave and Bacon's strong ties to the Omaha military community helped switch this seat from blue to red.

Nebraska Congressional District 03
Percent Reporting: 100    Last Update: 11/8/2016 9:16:20 PM

Candidate NamePercent Vote ReceivedWinner
Adrian Smith (Republican Party)    Winner

*The analysis on this page is provided by the Business-Industry Political Action Committee (BIPAC). BIPAC is an independent, bipartisan organization, that is supported by several hundred of the nation's leading businesses and trade associations. The views expressed in this analysis do not necessarily represent the views of our organization.